CCSA’s Issues of Substance Conference
Conférencier principaux

Mary Walsh Actrice This Hour Has 22 Minutes

SÉANCE PLÉNIÈRE

« Catalyseur : le dilemme d’une mère »

Date et heure

Mardi 26 novembre
08 h 30 - 10 h 00


Née à St. John’s (Terre-Neuve), Mary Walsh a créé This Hour Has 22 Minutes et a fait partie de la distribution originale de cette populaire émission de la CBC sur l’actualité, à laquelle elle a participé de 1993 à 2004. Ce travail lui vaut plusieurs de ses 18 prix Gémeaux et lui a permis d’incarner toute une gamme de personnages, dont Marg Delahunty, célèbre pour ses entrevues satiriques de politiciens.

Mme Walsh est auteure, réalisatrice et interprète de la série Hatching, Matching and Dispatching (2005-2006), gagnante d’un prix Gémeaux, émission qu’elle adapte pour le grand écran dans un film intitulé A Christmas Fury, sorti en 2017. Sa prestation dans des longs métrages (Crackie et New Waterford Girl) lui vaut des nominations pour des prix Génie. Elle a publié en 2017 son premier roman, Crying for the Moon.     

Mme Walsh sensibilise le public à la santé mentale et aux dépendances en tant que porte-parole de la campagne Cause pour la cause de Bell, en plus d’appuyer activement l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles, le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale et le Centre de santé autochtone Wabano d’Ottawa.

Mme Walsh a reçu de nombreux prix et doctorats honorifiques, dont l’Ordre du Canada en 2000, le Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle (Prix de la réalisation artistique) en 2012 et le Prix Earle-Grey des prix Écrans canadiens en 2019. 
 

Nous utilisons des témoins (« cookies ») sur notre site Web pour optimiser votre expérience de navigation. 

En continuant votre visite sur notre site sans modifier vos paramètres, nous supposons que vous consentez à l’installation de tous les témoins provenant de ce site Web. Cependant, vous pouvez en tout temps modifier les paramètres de votre navigateur. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre avis de confidentialité.

CCSA’s Issues of Substance Conference
Keynote Speaker

Mary Walsh Actor This Hour Has 22 Minutes

Plenary Session

Enabling: A Mother's Dilemma

Date & Time

Tuesday, November 26
8:30 - 10:00

Room

Confederation Ballroom


A native of St. John’s, Newfoundland, Mary Walsh created and appeared as part of the original cast of This Hour Has 22 Minutes, CBC’s popular take on current affairs. She starred in the series from 1993 to 2004. This work earned her many of her 18 Gemini awards and allowed her to display a dynamic range of characters, including Marg Delahunty, who became famous for satirical interviews of politicians.

Ms. Walsh wrote, produced and starred in the Gemini-award-winning series, Hatching, Matching and Dispatching (2005–2006), which she brought back in 2017 as a feature-length presentation called A Christmas Fury. She has received nominations for Genie Awards for her performances in feature films, Crackie and New Waterford Girl, and published her debut novel, Crying for the Moon, in 2017.

Ms. Walsh advocates for mental health and addiction awareness as a spokesperson for the Bell Let’s Talk campaign. She is also an active supporter of the Canadian National Institute for the Blind, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health and the Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health in Ottawa.

Among her many awards and honorary doctorates, Ms. Walsh has received the Order of Canada (2000), the Governor General’s Lifetime Achievement Award in the Performing Arts (2012) and the Canadian Screen Award’s Earle Grey Award (2019). 
 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience possible on our website.

You can change your cookie settings in your web browser at any time. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive cookies from our website. Review our Privacy Notice for more information.